Issue #7 Notebook – January 10, 2018


On behalf of the NVTA, a Happy New Year to you all. May 2018 bring you warm friendships, strong family connections, and good health.

Please remember that the NVTA is always here for you to ensure that you have support, even when everything is not going as well as you would like it. Through the BCTF we offer a variety of supports that can help you manage the many curve balls that life often tosses your way.

Programs such as Health and Wellness, SIP, Peer Support Services, Mentorship, Professional Development, and the Internal Mediation Service are there for the specific purpose of supporting teachers. Further, Robin, Carolyn, and myself are always here to provide advice and are always ready to represent you if needed. We work for you and you should never hesitate to give us a call at the office or to send us an email.

The NVTA GENERAL MEETING is Wednesday, January 31, 2018, 4 pm at St. Martin’s Anglican Church. NVTA delegates to the BCTF AGM will be elected at this meeting. Elections will also be held to fill positions on the NVTA’s Bargaining Committee. If you have any questions about the upcoming elections, contact the NVTA office. Superintendent Mark Pearmain will be a special guest at this meeting to discuss the Employee Engagement Survey.